State Septic System Replacement Fund Program

Home / Other Programs / State Septic System Replacement Fund Program
Overview

The State Septic System Replacement Fund Program provides funding to replace cesspools and septic systems in New York State. This grant program’s goal is to reduce the environmental and public-health impacts associated with the discharge from cesspools and septic systems. The program targets cesspools and septic systems in close proximity to priority waterbodies. Thirty counties are participating in the Septic System Replacement Fund. Please refer to the Participating Counties list below to determine if your county is participating in the program, as well as the county’s priority waterbody. Potential applicants should reach out to the local program contact to determine application process and eligible projects for that county.

The state provides participating counties with funds to work with local property owners. Participating counties provide grants to reimburse the property owner for up to 50% of the costs (up to a maximum of $10,000) of their eligible septic system project, include:

  • replacement of a cesspool with a septic system; or
  • installation, replacement or upgrade of a septic system or septic system components;
  • installation of enhanced treatment technologies, including an advanced nitrogen removal system.

Please refer to the State Septic System Replacement Fund Program Outline for more information.

Participating Counties

Below you will find a list of the participating counties' local program contacts and the priority waterbody.

Participating County Priority Water Body Local Program Contact

Allegany

*Canacadea Creek, Upper, and minor tribs (0503-0005) Tyler J. Shaw
585-268-9254
shawtj@alleganyco.com
Broome *Park Creek and tribs (0601-0031)
*Whitney Point Lake/Reservoir (0602-0004)
*Fly Pond, Deer Lake, *Sky Lake (1404-0038)
Creig Hebdon
607-778-2863
chebdon@co.broome.ny.us
Cattaraugus *Allegheny River/Reservoir (0201-0023) Eric W. Wohlers
716-701-3437
ewwohlers@cattco.org
Cayuga Owasco Lake (0706-0009)
Lake Como (0705-0029)
Cayuga Lake, Main Lake, Mid-South (0705-0050)
Cayuga Lake, Main Lake, Mid-North (0705-0025)
Cayuga Lake, Northern End (0705-0030)
Skaneateles Lake (0707-0004)
Eileen O'Connor
315-253-1244
eoconnor@cayugacounty.us
Chautauqua *Findley Lake (0202-0004)
Chautauqua Lake, North (0202-0072)
William T. Boria, P.G.
P: 716.753.4772  F: 716.753.4344
boriaw@co.chautauqua.ny.us
Chenango *Chenango Lake (0601-0013)
*Guilford Lake (0601-0012)
Isaiah Sutton
P: 607-337-1673 F: 607-337-1720
IsaiahS@co.chenango.ny.us
Clinton Isle LaMotte (1000-0001) Ryan Davies
518-565-4870
ryan.davies@clintoncountygov.com
Columbia  Robinson Pond (1308-0003)
Copake Lake (1310-0014)
Edward Coons
edward.coons@columbiacountyny.com
Cortland Skaneateles Lake (0707-0004) Michael J. Ryan
mryan@co.delaware.ny.us
Delaware Susquehanna River, Main Stem (0601-0020) Shelly Johnson Bennett
shelly.johnson@co.delaware.ny.us
Dutchess Hillside Lake (1304-0001)
Sylvan Lake (1304-0029)
Marie-Pierre Brule
845-486-3464
mbrule@dutchessny.gov
Essex Willsboro Bay (1001-0015)
Lake George (1006-0016)

Anna Reynolds
518-873-3895
anna.reynolds@essexcountyny.gov

Genesee

Tonawanda Creek, Middle, Main Stem (0102-0002)
Bowen Brook and tribs (0102-0036)
Bigelow Creek and tribs (0402-0016)
Oatka Creek, Middle and minor tribs (0402-0031)    

Thomas Sacco
585-344-2580 Ext. 5496
thomas.sacco@co.genesee.ny.us
Hamilton Lake Eaton (0903-0056) Erica Mahoney
erica.mahoney.hcphns@frontier.com
Herkimer North Winfield Creek and Tribs (0601-0035) Jim Wallace
jwwallace@herkimercounty.org
Jefferson Moon Lake (0905-0093)
Guffin Bay (0303-0025)
Saint Lawrence River, Main Stem (0901-0004)
*Red Lake (0906-0039)
*Indian River, Lower, and minor tribs (0906-0021)
*Indian River, Middle, and minor tribs (0906-0005)
*Indian River, Middle, and minor tribs (0906-0030)
*Indian River, Middle, and minor tribs (0906-0031)
*Indian River, Middle, and minor tribs (0906-0032)

Sara Freda
315-785-3144
sfreda@co.jefferson.ny.us

Lewis Beaver River, Lower, and tribs (0801-0197) Casandra Buell
casandrabuell@lewiscounty.ny.gov
Livingston Conesus Lake (0402-0004) Mr. Mark Grove
585-243-7280
mgrove@co.livingston.ny.us
Monroe Irondequoit Bay (0302-0001)
Mill Creek and tribs (0302-0025)
Shipbuilders Creek and tribs (0302-0026)
Minor Tribs to Irondequoit Bay (0302-0038)
Hundred Acre Pond (0302-0034)
Gerry Rightmyer
585-753-5471
grightmyer@monroecounty.gov
Nassau County Wide Brian Schneider
516-571-6725
bschneider@nassaucountyny.gov
Onondaga Skaneateles Lake (0707-0004)
Seneca River, Lower, Main Stem (0701-0008)
Jeffrey Till
315-435-6623 Ext. 4503
jeffreytill@ongov.net
Ontario Honeoye Lake (0402-0032)
*Canadice Lake (0402-0002)
*Canandaigua Lake (0704-0001)
*Hemlock Lake (0402-0011) 
*Seneca Lake, Main Lake, North (0705-0026)
*Seneca Lake, Main Lake, Middle (0705-0021)
Megan Webster
585-396-1450
Megan.Webster@ontswcd.com
Oswego *Lake Ontario Shoreline, Eastern (0303-0030)
*Lake Ontario Shoreline, Eastern (0303-0031)
*Lake Ontario Shoreline, Eastern (0303-0017)
*Lake Ontario Shoreline, Oswego (0302-0040)
*Lake Ontario Shoreline, Central (0302-0041)
Donna Scanlon
315-349-8292
Donna.scanlon@oswegocounty.com
Otsego Goodyear Lake (0601-0015)
Susquehanna River, Main Stem (0601-0020)
Tammy Harris
607-547-4228
harrist@otsegocounty.com
Putnam *Oscawana Lake (1301-0035)
East Branch Croton, Middle, and tribs (1302-0055)
Palmer Lake (1302-0103)
Joseph Paravati
845-808-1390 Ext. 43157
joseph.paravati@putnamcountyny.gov
Rensselaer Nassau Lake (1310-0001) Richard Elder
relder@rensco.com
Saint Lawrence Saint Lawrence River, Main Stem (0901-0004)
Raquette River, Lower, and minor tribs (0903-0059)
Little River and tribs (0905-0090)
Jason Pfotenhauer
315-379-2292
jpfotenhauer@stlawco.org
Saratoga Dwaas Kill and tribs (1101-0007)

Dustin Lewis
518-885-6900
dustinlewissaratogaswcd@gmail.com

Schoharie Summit Lake (1202-0014) Shane Nickle
518-295-8770
shanenickle@co.schoharie.ny.us
Schuyler Waneta Lake (0502-0002)
Lamoka Lake and Mill Pond (0502-0001)
Darrel Sturges
607-535-8686
dsturges@co.schuyler.ny.us
Seneca Cayuga Lake, Main Lake, Mid-North (0705-0025)
Cayuga Lake, Northern End (0705-0030)
Cayuga Lake, Main Lake, Mid-South (0705-0050)
Tom Scoles
315-539-1947
tscoles@co.seneca.ny.us
Steuben Smith Pond (0502-0012)
*Almond Lake (0503-0003)
Waneta Lake (0502-0002)
Lamoka Lake and Mill Pond (0502-0001)
*Keuka Lake (0705-0003)

Amy Dlugos
607-664-2267
amy@co.steuben.ny.us

Suffolk County Wide Joan Crawford
631-852-5811
joan.crawford@suffolkcountyny.gov
Tompkins Cayuga Lake, Southern End (0705-0040)
Cayuga Lake, Main Lake, Mid-South (0705-0050)
Liz Cameron
607-274-6688
lcameron@tompkins-co.org
Warren Lake George (1006-0016) Claudia Braymer
braymer@warrencountyny.gov
Washington Cossayuna Lake (1103-0002)
Lake George (1006-0016)
Laura Oswald
loswald@washingtoncountyny.gov
Wayne Blind Sodus Bay (0302-0021)
Lake Ontario Shoreline, Central (0302-0044)
Lindsey Gusterslagn
315-946-7200
lindsey@waynenyswcd.org
Westchester Lake Meahagh (1301-0053)
Truesdale Lake (1302-0054)
Heather McVeigh
hdh1@westchestergov.com
Wyoming Java Lake (0104-0004)
Silver Lake (0403-0002)
Oatka Creek, Middle, and minor tribs (0402-0031)
Stephen Perkins
585-786-8857 ext. 5163
sperkins@wyomingco.net

 

* Only Eligible for Round 1 Funding

 

Eligibility

Participating counties are responsible for reviewing and evaluating the applications and determine financial assistance awards based on the program criteria. The following considerations are made: property’s location in relation to a waterbody, impacts to groundwater used as drinking water, and the condition of the property owner’s current septic system. After evaluating the applications and making the funding decisions, participating counties notify the property owners of their grant awards by sending them award letters.

Below is the list of the eligible and ineligible costs associated with the Septic System Replacement Fund.

o   Design and installation costs;

o   costs of the system;

o   system components;

o   enhanced treatment technologies;

o   design costs (limited only to work needed to complete approved design).

o   Routine maintenance such as pump out of a septic tank;

o   expenses that are not appropriately documented;

o   government permit fee;

o   interest and late fees;

o   fines and penalties;

o   sales tax payment;

o   non-essential site beautification or interior plumbing changes;

o   administrative work conducted by the engineer; and

o   construction observation by the engineer if the engineer, or an entity owned, controlled by or employing the engineer, is also conducting the repair or replacement.

Forms for County Use

Counties which have identified priority areas will have received the following forms or letters for their use. However, they are also available here for their convenience.

Notification Letter to Property Owners

Septic System Replacement Program Application Form

Grant Award Letter

Grant Denial Letter

County Request for Disbursement