Septic System Replacement Program

Home / Other Programs / Septic System Replacement Program
Overview

The Septic System Replacement Fund provides funding to replace cesspools and septic systems in New York State. This grant program’s goal is to reduce the environmental and public-health impacts associated with the discharge from cesspools and septic systems. The program targets cesspools and septic systems in close proximity to priority waterbodies. Thirty counties are participating in the Septic System Replacement Fund. Please refer to the Participating Counties list below to determine if your county is participating in the program, as well as the county’s priority waterbody. Potential applicants should reach out to the local program contact to determine application process and eligible projects for that county.

The state provides participating counties with funds to work with local property owners. Participating counties provide grants to reimburse the property owner for up to 50% of the costs (up to a maximum of $10,000) of their eligible septic system project, include:

  • replacement of a cesspool with a septic system; or
  • installation, replacement or upgrade of a septic system or septic system components;
  • installation of enhanced treatment technologies, including an advanced nitrogen removal system.

Please refer to the State Septic System Replacement Fund Program Outline for more information.

Participating Counties

Below you will find a list of the participating counties' local program contacts and the priority waterbody.

Participating County Local Program Contact Priority Waterbody

Allegany

Tyler J. Shaw
585-268-9254
shawtj@alleganyco.com
Canacadea Creek, which is tributary to Almond Lake
Broome Creig Hebdon
607-778-2863
chebdon@co.broome.ny.us
Park Creek and tributaries, Whitney Point Lake/Reservoir, Fly Pond, Deer and Sky Lakes
Cattaraugus Eric W. Wohlers
716-701-3437
ewwohlers@cattco.org
Allegany River/Reservoir
Cayuga Eileen O'Connor
315-253-1244
eoconnor@cayugacounty.us
Cayuga, Owasco and Skaneateles Lakes
Chautauqua William T. Boria, P.G.
P: 716.753.4772  F: 716.753.4344
boriaw@co.chautauqua.ny.us
Findley Lake
Chenango Isaiah Sutton
P: 607-337-1673 F: 607-337-1720
IsaiahS@co.chenango.ny.us
Chenango and Guilford Lakes
Clinton Ryan Davies
518-565-4870
ryan.davies@clintoncountygov.com
Upper Chateaugay Lake
Dutchess Marie-Pierre Brule
845-486-3464
mbrule@dutchessny.gov
Hillside and Sylvan Lakes
Essex Anna Reynolds
518-873-3895
areynolds@co.essex.ny.us

Lake Champlain/Willsboro Point

Genesee Thomas Sacco
585-344-2580 Ext. 5496
thomas.sacco@co.genesee.ny.us
Bigelow Creek and tributaries, Tonawanda Creek- Middle, Main Stem, Black Creek - Middle, and minor tributaries
Jefferson Lesley Zlatev
315-785-3144
lzlatev@co.jefferson.ny.us
Moon and Red Lakes and Indian River
Livingston

Mr. Mark Grove
585-243-7280
mgrove@co.livingston.ny.us

Conesus Lake
Monroe Wade Silkworth
585-753-5470
wadesilkworth@monroecounty.gov
Irondequoit Bay and minor tributaries to Inrondequoit Bay, Mill Creek and tributaries, Shipbuilders Creek and tributaries
Nassau Brian Schneider
516-571-6725
bschneider@nassaucountyny.gov
County Wide
Onondaga Jeffrey Till
315-435-6623 Ext. 4503
jeffreytill@ongov.net
Otisco and Skaneateles Lakes
Ontario Megan Webster
585-396-1450
Megan.Webster@ontswcd.com
Canadice, Canandaigua, Hemlock, Honeoye, and Seneca Lakes
Oswego Donna Scanlon
315-349-8292
Donna.scanlon@oswegocounty.com
Lake Ontario
Otsego

Tammy Harris
607-547-4228
harrist@otsegocounty.com

Goodyear Lake
Putnam Joseph Paravati
845-808-1390 Ext. 43157
joseph.paravati@putnamcountyny.gov
Oscawana Lake
Saint Lawrence Keith Zimmerman
315-379-2292
kzimmerman@stlawco.org
Black Lake, St. Lawrence Main Stem, Little River and tributaries, Lower portion of Raquette River and Indian River
Saratoga Dustin Lewis
518-885-6900
dustinlewissaratogaswcd@gmail.com

Dwass Kill and tributaries

Schoharie Shane Nickle
518-295-8770
shanenickle@co.schoharie.ny.us
Summit Lake
Schuyler Darrel Sturges
607-535-8686
dsturges@co.schuyler.ny.us
Lamoka and Waneta Lakes, Mill Pond
Seneca Tom Scoles
315-539-1947
tscoles@co.seneca.ny.us
Seneca and Cayuga Lakes
Steuben Amy Dlugos
607-664-2267
amy@co.steuben.ny.us
Almond, Keuka and Waneta Lakes, Mill and Smith Ponds
Suffolk Joan Crawford
631-852-5811
joan.crawford@suffolkcountyny.gov
County Wide
Tompkins Liz Cameron
607-274-6688
lcameron@tompkins-co.org
Cayuga Lake
Wayne Lindsey Gusterslagn
315-946-7200
lindsey@waynenyswcd.org
Lake Ontario, Blind Sodus Bay
Wyoming Stephen Perkins
585-786-8857 ext. 5163
sperkins@wyomingco.net
Silver and Java Lakes
Yates Daniel R. Long
315-536-5543
dlong@yatescounty.org
Canandaigua, Keuka and Seneca Lakes

 

Eligibility

Participating counties are responsible for reviewing and evaluating the applications and determine financial assistance awards based on the program criteria. The following considerations are made: property’s location in relation to a waterbody, impacts to groundwater used as drinking water, and the condition of the property owner’s current septic system. After evaluating the applications and making the funding decisions, participating counties notify the property owners of their grant awards by sending them award letters.

Below is the list of the eligible and ineligible costs associated with the Septic System Replacement Fund.

o   Design and installation costs;

o   costs of the system;

o   system components;

o   enhanced treatment technologies;

o   design costs (limited only to work needed to complete approved design).

o   Routine maintenance such as pump out of a septic tank;

o   expenses that are not appropriately documented;

o   government permit fee;

o   interest and late fees;

o   fines and penalties;

o   sales tax payment;

o   non-essential site beautification or interior plumbing changes;

o   administrative work conducted by the engineer; and

o   construction observation by the engineer if the engineer, or an entity owned, controlled by or employing the engineer, is also conducting the repair or replacement.

Forms for County Use

Counties which have identified priority areas will have received the following forms or letters for their use. However, they are also available here for their convenience.

Notification Letter to Property Owners

Septic System Replacement Program Application Form

Grant Award Letter

Grant Denial Letter

County Request for Disbursement